Chinese New Years Festival in Surfers!

Saturday, Feb. 28, 2015, was a fun little outing!

I woke up in the morning and rode a bike to Burleigh Farmers Market. They have them every Saturday from 7:30 to noon. It was such a nice morning for a 20 minute bike ride. Once we arrived we saw tons of stalls. We were not really sure what we expected. We first walked into a large building where there were little different tables or booths with foods from raw chocolate peppermint to fresh fruit smoothies to some special type of wine. I wasn’t quite sure if it was wine or not, but it looked like it was in a wine bottle! I was truly intrigued though by the raw food stand! The man was giving out samples and let us sample the raw peppermint chocolate! It was so tasty!

Once we walked out of the building is when we saw the several stalls. The stalls had a lot of produce, which were all equally the same, and most were averagely priced. They also had interesting booths of jewelry and many different types of food vendors. I was there to only explore, unfortunately, my belly got the best of me.

IMG_3254I had to eat some type of food while I was there.  Therefore, I started off with some vegan pizza in the raw food place….It was not good. I don’t like pizza to begin with so it probably wasn’t a good idea to try it…Oh well! After that, I went and I found a man who was selling coconuts. For only $5.00 I was able to wash out that terrible taste of pizza with some delicious coconut water and then also have some tasty fresh coconut after I drank out the water. My next purchase to end the day at the market was a bag of bananas for $2.00. It was at the end of the day so they were trying to get rid of their stuff. That’s kind of a tip if you want to try to get stuff at a discount go at the end. Of course you will risk not getting it, but it’s worth a shot if you’re trying to save!!

Next, we finished our afternoon outing with a quick trip to the beach. My friend, Nicole, was trying to get a picture of water in motion for her photography class. So we went and just snapped a few pictures over there. I didn’t get in the ocean, but instead just waded around in the water! It was nice and refreshing!

Anyways, later that evening there was a Chinese New Year Festival going on in the new China town. It wasn’t very big, but it was a nice event to go out to. I took the public transportation there with my friend. That was an adventure, because taking public transportation was fun! Once we arrived we had to walk and we didn’t quite know where we were going. Therefore, we had to just ask around. It worked out quite well, and I felt proud that I was able to figure it out without doing using internet.IMG_3271

It wasn’t a far walk from where the tram had dropped us off. It was quite nice! Once you got there, there were tons of people crowded in this tiny area and lots of food vendors. It seems a lot of activities surround itself around food, but hey why not! It’s a great way to connect with people! They had many performances going on throughout the evening. There were dragon performers, ribbon dancers, this opera singer, and lots of tasty smelling foods. Below are some pictures from the evening with my friend Heidi!

IMG_3261 IMG_3267IMG_3286 IMG_3269

Leave a comment